NEWS



J. D. Lindsay



H. D. Fincher



W. D. Harris



A. C. Wamble



F. G. Packard



C. M. Lyman

Names Houston Program Committee

HAIRMAN of the technical program committee for the 47th annual spring meeting of the American Oil Chemists' Society will be J. D. Lindsay, head of the chemical engineering department of Texas A & M College, College Station, Tex., according to William Argue, general chairman. The meeting will be held in Houston, Tex., at the Shamrock hotel, April 23–25, 1956.

Assisting Dr. Lindsay will be the following: C. M. Lyman, department of biochemistry and nutrition, Texas A & M; H. D. Fincher, process engineer for Anderson, Clayton and Company, Houston; W. D. Harris, chemical engineering department, Texas A & M; A. C. Wamble, Cottonseed Products Research Laboratory, Texas A & M; and F. G. Packard, refineries, Anderson, Clayton, Houston. With the exception of Mr. Packard the committee is the same as the one functioning for the 1952 spring meeting in Houston.

A variety of technical papers is sought, dealing with basic fundamental contributions in the field of oils and fats, research, methods, processing, and related materials. Anyone who wishes to offer a paper for presentation is asked to submit the title, names of authors, and an abstract to the chairman, Dr. Lindsay, as soon as possible and not later than March 10, 1956. A well-rounded program of general interest to the membership is promised by the committee.

Mr. Argue, who is general director of refineries for Anderson, Clayton, was chairman of the 1952 spring meeting in Houston, where the Society met for the first time.

In connection with the spring meeting the annual reports of Society committees are given, the results of the mail balloting on officers are announced, and the outgoing and incoming Governing Board convenes.

Selects Chicago Chairmen

Inc.; N. W. Ziels, treasurer and chairman of the program subcommittee on detergents, Lever Brothers Company, Hammond, Ind.; Paul Soderdahl, exhibits, Hart and Harrington Inc.; and R. W. Vander Wal, publicity, Armour and Company.

Mr. Soderdahl is planning a preliminary letter to exhibitors in the near future. Inquiries may be sent to him at his home address: 525 N. Humphrey avenue, Oak Park, Ill.

Other Associations

The first award of the George Sarton Medal for outstanding contributions to the history of science will be made in Washington, D. C., on December 29, 1955, at the annual meeting of the History of Science Society. The award is made possible by a \$1,500 grant from Charles Pfizer and Company Inc., Brooklyn, N. Y.

The 1956 Perkin Medal of the American section, Society of Chemical Industry, will be presented to Edgar C. Britton, director of the Edgar C. Britton research laboratory of the Dow Chemical Company, Midland, Mich. The 1956 award will be the 50th impression of the medal, which is bestowed for outstanding achievement in applied chemistry.